Face Behind the Keyboard

Posted on

Image

Face Behind The Keyboard is my 2014 personal project, it’s all about taking me out of my comfort zone and also quite a lot of my subjects to !

I have been thinking about this project for a while, it’s been quite hard for me to decide which way to go with my portrait project in 2014 but in the end I was inspired by a very very close friend who I did not meet in the flesh ! Her name was Lynette, we became friends on the internet on Dontstayin.com and then on facbook, we spoke nearly every day for many years and had a very close friendship. Unfortunately Lyn died in tragic circumstances, this was a huge shock for me and even though I was welcomed with open arms to her funeral by her family, I could not go! Having a virtual best friend you had never met who died was quite hard to deal with.  I think about her all the time, and always wish we could have met just once!

Also every one that does not know I met Jane on what was Face-Pic, Jane was one of the only people on Face-Pic without a profile photo! Long story.

The internet is a strange place, it’s amazing how we can think and feel and fall in love without meeting any one in person! Some people remain faceless even to this day on facebook. This is my inspiration for the 2014 project as it will help me to meet some of you guys just once in the flesh and put a person to a profile !

I know a lot of Photographers myself included that hate having their photo taken and there are quite a few shy people around, believe it or not, myself included! But I feel quite safe behind the camera!

My project with commence on the 1st of January 2014 and finish on the 31st December 2014, I think it will follow on very nicely from my 2013 project, my year of black and white.

I aim to shoot the whole project with Fuji X camera systems, I have a few ideas for a few of my friends, but don’t worry nothing too radical! 

If you want to join in and take part you can, if you are one of my social media friends on any platform and you want to meet up and have your portrait shot then get in touch by e mail matt@matthewhartphotography.com or through one of the social media platforms. I can’t include you all and I can’t travel the world, but if you are visiting the UK in 2014 then get in touch and I will see what I can do.

This project is no doubt going to be a very emotional one on so many levels, one life live it, capture it ! 

One thought on “Face Behind the Keyboard

    Interview of the week: Matt Hart « Eh Namour said:
    April 7, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    […] am in the middle of my ‘face behind the keyboard’ project for 2014. https://matthewhartphotography.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/face-behind-the-keyboard/ and this will finish on the 31st December 2014. My new project will be an ‘available light’ […]

Leave a Reply

