Nikon to Fuji

Posted on

Image

I am getting lots and lots of e mails and questions about my switch from Nikon to Fuji!

To be honest it could have been Canon to Fuji, it’s a change that needed to be made and the main reason was size and weight, following my fall on Skye last year I have been getting fed up carrying 20-30 Kilos of camera gear around, and also I want to change the way I work, for my future projects.

It’s strange but if you go back through my blog, I have been having this dilemma for a long time, and way before all the big names in the industry made the switch! I just had to wait to finish a few projects before I could part with my D3s, and I wanted a camera system that has some great lenses! I was thinking Sony a while back but their lenses were just not up to it. When I got an X100 I was so stunned by the images and the lens Quality it was a no brainer!

So before I went to Venice I sold all my Nikon Pro gear! I have to be honest here and say the only parts of the system I will miss are the D3s and the Sigma 300mm 2.8! I sold everything DSLR related, tripods and filters etc So am now completely DSLR free and will never buy another.

I will just say this, I was Nikon for 40+ years but feel over the last four years Nikon have been all about profit and are forgetting the end user! The last 18 months they have just been clutching at straws and bringing out one camera after another! The D800 is fine but the image sensor is too big, the D4 is not that much of an improvement on the D3s and in some respects the D3s is better ! The best camera Nikon have at the moment is the D7100. It’s a shame people with the D3 and D700 and D300 were all looking for a great camera when there model was worn out. But it’s just not happening. In my honest opinion a second hand D200 is still a stunning camera and back in my blog the cheep early Nikon VR lenses are still stunning. I see Nikon are now going to follow Fuji and try and make a Nikon FM2 style retro copy !   Let me tell you the Nikon FM2 was an amazing film camera and came from the days Nikon were top of their game ! The image sensors in Nikon cameras are good but just go out for a day with a Fuji X series and think again! The X Series sensors are stunning and the dynamic range and lack of noise is also stunning. The rumor is Nikon are going to put a full frame sensor in this retro camera! Give me strength! Please Nikon get a grip, no one will be able to keep the sensor clean it will be a nightmare for any one that can’t clean their own sensor and they are going to keep the same lens mount! I think someone at Nikon needs to get there head out of the sand and look to the future!

I will just say that in the last 18 months I have never had so many faults with Nikon gear, and it was driving me mad having to send it back to Nikon for repair! It’s not great when a company forgets how it got to where it is, let’s hope they sort it out before it’s too late.

Nokia are going to shake things up over the next few months with their camera phones and tablets so the future of the consumer camera market is going to be a mess for a while, the phone companies have taken over that market!

Fuji has got it right in my opinion, using the X100 and the Xpro1 to me were like going back to my Nikon FM2. It slowed me down and made me think, and this I like. I also want to be ready for the future and the future is not in DSLR’s I can tell you that for a fact, Mirrorless are not quite there yet but they will be and I want to learn how to use them now and know them inside out.

I decided to get the Xpro1 and a few lenses, with the hope they bring out an Xpo2 next year so I can use the Xpro1 as a back up to the Xrpo2. I sold my X100 and do miss it, so I might buy an X100s but we shall see.

So what do I think so far! I am in love with Fuji; I have seen every one trying to jump on their bandwagon Olympus etc and good luck to them. But for me Fuji is where it is and I hope Fuji stick to their amazing customer focused business! When you buy a Fuji and you open the box you know you have just made the right decision, even the box is stunning! (Take note Nikon and Canon)

The X100 and the Xpro1 are quirky to use just like film cameras used to be and I love that, but some of the things you can do with a mirrorless rangefinder are just amazing. Filters work like a dream and the camera even has a built in Bulb Timer! How cool is that for long exposures! Talking of long exposures you can focus the Xpro1 in the dark using the scale in the monitor to set the focus and depth of field and its spot on. It’s not as fast AF wise as a DSLR but there is a trick in the menus to speed things up and if anyone wants to know how its done message me and I will send you details. There are so many great things about these little cameras I just don’t have time to write it all down for you, but I walked around Venice for 5 days 10 hours a day with a camera body and 6 lenses and a tripod and my shoulder did not ache once!

No one looks at you with the Fuji, so you can shoot where you like and no one bats an eyelid.

You can put a huge amount of Fuji gear in a flight bag and carry it all on and off a flight, so perfect for travel.

I will only miss my DSLR for Wildlife and high ISO and I might miss a few shots when I shoot gigs or events due to AF speed but I just don’t care to be honest.

I have a few ideas up my sleeve and a few projects for the next few years that will make me fit the system.

So that’s it for now, if you want to know more about the Xpro1 and lenses feel free to come find me on Facebook or any of my other social media links and have a chat.

I will write more on the camera and lenses when I get the chance so bare with me. 

22 thoughts on “Nikon to Fuji

    Steve Brill said:
    April 6, 2014 at 11:13 am

    Great article Matthew. Like you I have spent many years as a Nikon fan. But just purchased Fuji X-T1, as couldn’t live with X-Pro-1’s slow AF. Would love any hints or tips on how to get the best from the AF. Thank you. Regards Steve

    Pio said:
    April 6, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    We may have some similarities! I started with film SLR, Zeiss. Switched to Rolleiflex SL2000F with Zeiss lenses. Around 1998, I switched to Contax G2 and Zeiss lenses. Tried digital around 2004 with Canon PowerPro1, and gradually left film. For a trip to Japan in 2008, I brought Canon 5D with 24-105mm zoom, 100-400mm zoom and 100mm macro all in a heavy backpack camera bag. Later added the 16-35mm zoom. For a coming trip this June, I dreaded the thought of carrying a heavy backpack. A friend had Nikon 800E, but then I saw him post a self-portrait on Facebook with a Fuji X-Pro1. I thought of buying one, then saw the X-E2. I really miss my Contax G2, so I looked at the X-E2 as the logical evolution in digital format. Just before I bought it, the X-T1 came out. To me, it is still SLR style, but similar sensor as the X-E2. I went ahead and bought the X-E2 with the 18-55mm zoom, 55-200mm zoom and 60mm macro. I’m still undecided about Zeiss Touit 12mm or Fuji XF 14mm, but the system will fit with extra batteries, chargers, cable release, iPad, in a small LowePro travel bag. Now I’m learning to use the Fujifilm X-E2 for HDR exercise and more macrophotography.

    Nicolas D. Chauvet said:
    April 7, 2014 at 11:17 am

    Matthew:
    I love that.
    I’ve been playing with this idea after buying 2 X-Pro1 bodies, and waiting to try the X-T1. And I still have my Contax G2, in good working condition, with all the lenses including the mythical 21mm.
    I think I’ll switch with great pleasure and fun, the same way I switched from lousy Windows based PC’s to fun of use and easy Macs. Away with the D800’s and related heavy lenses. Maybe the only one I’ll miss is the 35mm/1.4 – but it’s Fuji 23mm counterpart will do the trick.
    Best, Nick

      matt6t6 responded:
      April 7, 2014 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks Nick have a great week.

    Michael joey coloma said:
    April 7, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    I’m also a nikon user since 1988 both nikon film cameras and digitals.recently i sold my 4 month old d7100 and switch to fuji.my first fujifilm camera is xe1 with 18-55mm lens.I still enjoy using my old nikorr lens like the 50mm 1.4 lens with an adapter.now i enjoy using my fuji xe1 much better and lighter,excellent for my street photography hobby.i just hope fuji will come up with a full frame camera with the same size as the xpro1.Cheers!

    Arnold van Wijk said:
    April 8, 2014 at 6:18 am

    Funny, i did exactly the same with my Canon pro gear, 5D3, 7D, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200L, all sold! Started with the X-E1, 18-55 and 35 1.4 and waited for the X-T1 to come out. In the meantime I bought some other great lenses, 14mm, 23mm, 55-200 and last week the 10-24. Never been happier with my gear and the image quality. Never looked back and never missed my Canon. IQ is on par with or even better than Canon, depending on the lenses you use.

    The EF 16-35 wasn’t one my my best landscape lenses, but Canon offers no other/better choise. It’s the most important focal range for my type of photograpy and i even considered the change to Nikon, just to get the 14-24. But since i use a lot of filters, the 14-24 was out of the question.

    Last week i picked up my XF 10-24 from my local store, and was blown away by it’s image quality. It rivals my 14mm prime with ease. It’s so damn sharp, contrasty and without significant lens errors , it’s running circles around the 17-40L and 16-35L. It’s really the best wide angle zoom i’ve ever used.

    As a landscape photographer i’ve never been happier with the light weighted X-T1/10-24 combo.

      matt6t6 responded:
      April 8, 2014 at 7:31 am

      Arnold, For Landscape the 10-24mm is stunning and the X-T1 is a carry anywhere camera system ! Saves backache and leg ache carrying heavy camera gear up hills and mountains. Fuji have a massive future..
      Matt

    Jim Donahue said:
    April 8, 2014 at 11:57 am

    Did the switch from all Nikon to a Fuji X100S and a pocket size X10,. Image Quality is amazing and I won’t be going back to DSLR, Love my Fuji Stuff.

    Geoff said:
    April 8, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    I, too, have been a Nikon user for many years. I currently own a D7000 and D800 along with fast lenses. Superb IQ, but at what cost? Back aches and shoulder aches. I also own an X-E2 with the 18-55 kit and 55-200. I love the IQ, not to mention the lighter weight. My Fuji gear gets used a lot more than the Nikon. What I love about Fuji is they seem to have the photographers’ needs at top priority. Unlike Nikon and Canon, they really listen to their customers. My only complaint is slower AF. But they’re improving all the time. And unlike many of you, I can’t see selling all of my Nikon gear yet. The Nikon still does better shooting my grandsons’ soccer games. But the day will come when I do make the full switch.

    Mike Sweeney said:
    April 8, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    It’s not just the Fuji. My pair of D700 bodies sit and gather dust most of the time now because I’m using my iPhone much more often. If I want a better camera then I get out the OMD which rocks it most of the time. I just got back from Zion Utah and the iPhone was able to handle 80% or more of the needs. I did break out the D700 for some special shots but I would have not been broken hearted if I had not brought it with me. The DSLR is a dinosaur and will be trophy cameras or seen as a niche use item in the next few years.

    David Longstreath said:
    April 8, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    As a wire service photographer for 30 years with a team Pulitzer Prize to my credit I too was finally fed up with DSLR’s and the weight. I started with the NC2000 back in 1995 and suffered through all the upgrades and models to finally arriving at the Canon 5d Mk II. But now I am 62 and carrying the weight of two bodies and four prime lenses was beginning to be to much. I now have two X Pro 1 bodies and four Fujinon lenses and I love the system and the quality. It is not a run and gun system but more along the lines of stop, think, shoot and shoot again. The AF system is good if you use the back button method and there are so many items I have yet to work with. But I am retired so I do have time to learn.

    Jacques Laurent said:
    April 8, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    Great article. My story is very similar. Bought everything Nikon since the 70’s. Hasselblad and Sinar also. So far i’ve kept the Sinar (4×5). My Nikon is for sale with all lenses and acces. I don’t care much for videos and if I did I’ll be buying a real video camera. So the D4 is out. Nikon DF is ugly as hell and heavy (to many buttons). The Fuji xpro1… what a great camera. I’m doing everything with it. Some of my clients wonder if I’m a real pro at times since the Xpro is very unassuming. And “That” is why I love it so much. If I wasn’t a professional photographer I’ll be using a smartphone. Very discreet, very light, not scary. But the lenses quality is not there yet for smartphones. Won’t be long so.

    Paul mariess said:
    April 8, 2014 at 10:12 pm

    Matthew, would love to know how you optimise the AF.
    Loving the X Pro1, but it does struggle to keep up with the reportage work I do.

    menglish said:
    April 8, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    Reblogged this on Matthew English Photography and commented:
    I just made the switch from Nikon to a Fuji X E1 for all of the same reasons.

    Jacques Laurent said:
    April 9, 2014 at 12:14 am

    But … last but not least, the camera is only a tool. Your brain and your eyes are ” it “. You either make or take a picture.

    Fred said:
    April 9, 2014 at 8:21 am

    Me too… from d700 to X-E2, stunning image quality, but still something to improve on AF speed, can’t think to freeze my childs playing or a wedding reportage… and the EVF gives me a bad feeling, seems to look at an old QT movie… for all the rest, no doubt… Fujifilm will be my camera

    […] ต่อมาประเด็นที่สอง ก็คือ กล้อง Fuji X-T1 นั้นจะดีพอสำหรับเอามาถ่ายงานแต่งงานได้หรือไม่ ด้วยที่ช่างภาพงานแต่งงานในบ้านเราที่ผมเคยเห็นเค้าก็ใช้แต่กล้อง DSLR กันทุกคน รวมถึงตัวผมด้วย ผมจึงได้หาข้อมูลเรื่องนี้เพิ่มเติมจากในอินเตอร์เน็ต บทความแรกๆ ที่ผมได้อ่าน คือ บทความ Nikon to Fuji ที่เจ้าของบทความเป็นผู้ที่ใช้กล้อง Nikon มามากกว่า 40ปี แต่สุดท้ายก็ตัดสินใจมาใช้กล้องของ Fuji รวมทั้งบทความต่างๆ ของช่างภาพต่างประเทศ ที่ใช้กล้อง Mirrorless ของ Fuji ถ่ายภาพงานแต่งงาน ซึ่งบางคนก็ใช้กล้อง Fuji X100 กับงานของเค้ามาตั้งแต่ 2 ถึง 3 ปีก่อน รวมทั้งจากที่ผมได้อ่านรีวิวของกล้อง Fuji X-T1 จากเว็บไซท์ต่างๆ ที่ต่างพากันชื่นชมความเร็วในการโฟกัสของเจ้า Fuji X-T1 ประกอบกับที่ผมได้ลองจับตัวจริงตามร้านขายกล้อง และได้มีโอกาสลองใช้จากรุ่นพี่ที่รู้จัก จนในที่สุดผมจึงตัดสินใจขายกล้อง Nikon D800E พร้อมอุปกรณ์ทั้งหมดของผม เพื่อไปซื้อกล้อง Fuji X-T1 ซึ่งในเบื่องต้นเลนส์ที่ผมซื้อมาใช้ด้วยนั่น คือ เลนส์ 10-24 f4 และ 56 f1.2 […]

    […] ต่อมาประเด็นที่สอง ก็คือ กล้อง Fuji X-T1 นั้นจะดีพอสำหรับเอามาถ่ายงานแต่งงานได้หรือไม่ ด้วยที่ช่างภาพงานแต่งงานในบ้านเราที่ผมเคยเห็นเค้าก็ใช้แต่กล้อง DSLR กันทุกคน รวมถึงตัวผมด้วย ผมจึงได้หาข้อมูลเรื่องนี้เพิ่มเติมจากในอินเตอร์เน็ต บทความแรกๆ ที่ผมได้อ่าน คือ บทความ Nikon to Fuji ที่เจ้าของบทความเป็นผู้ที่ใช้กล้อง Nikon มามากกว่า 40 ปี แต่สุดท้ายก็ตัดสินใจมาใช้กล้องของ Fuji รวมทั้งบทความต่างๆ ของช่างภาพต่างประเทศ ที่ใช้กล้อง Mirrorless ของ Fuji ถ่ายภาพงานแต่งงาน ซึ่งบางคนก็ใช้กล้อง Fuji X100 กับงานของเค้ามาตั้งแต่ 2 ถึง 3 ปีก่อน รวมทั้งจากที่ผมได้อ่านรีวิวของกล้อง Fuji X-T1 จากเว็บไซท์ต่างๆ ที่ต่างพากันชื่นชมความเร็วในการโฟกัสของเจ้า Fuji X-T1 ประกอบกับที่ผมได้ลองจับตัวจริงตามร้านขายกล้อง และได้มีโอกาสลองใช้จากรุ่นพี่ที่รู้จัก จนในที่สุดผมจึงตัดสินใจขายกล้อง Nikon D800E พร้อมอุปกรณ์ทั้งหมดของผม เพื่อไปซื้อกล้อง Fuji X-T1 ซึ่งในเบื่องต้นเลนส์ที่ผมซื้อมาใช้ด้วยนั่น คือ เลนส์ 10-24 f4 และ 56 f1.2 […]

    […] ต่อมาประเด็นที่สอง ก็คือ กล้อง Fuji X-T1 นั้นจะดีพอสำหรับเอามาถ่ายงานแต่งงานได้หรือไม่ ด้วยที่ช่างภาพงานแต่งงานในบ้านเราที่ผมเคยเห็นเค้าก็ใช้แต่กล้อง DSLR กันทุกคน รวมถึงตัวผมด้วย ผมจึงได้หาข้อมูลเรื่องนี้เพิ่มเติมจากในอินเตอร์เน็ต บทความแรกๆ ที่ผมได้อ่าน คือ บทความ Nikon to Fuji ที่เจ้าของบทความเป็นผู้ที่ใช้กล้อง Nikon มามากกว่า 40 ปี แต่สุดท้ายก็ตัดสินใจมาใช้กล้องของ Fuji รวมทั้งบทความต่างๆ ของช่างภาพต่างประเทศ ที่ใช้กล้อง Mirrorless ของ Fuji ถ่ายภาพงานแต่งงาน ซึ่งบางคนก็ใช้กล้อง Fuji X100 กับงานของเค้ามาตั้งแต่ 2 ถึง 3 ปีก่อน รวมทั้งจากที่ผมได้อ่านรีวิวของกล้อง Fuji X-T1 จากเว็บไซท์ต่างๆ ที่ต่างพากันชื่นชมความเร็วในการโฟกัสของเจ้า Fuji X-T1 ประกอบกับที่ผมได้ลองจับตัวจริงตามร้านขายกล้อง และได้มีโอกาสลองใช้จากรุ่นพี่ที่รู้จัก จนในที่สุดผมจึงตัดสินใจขายกล้อง Nikon D800E พร้อมอุปกรณ์ทั้งหมดของผม เพื่อไปซื้อกล้อง Fuji X-T1 ซึ่งในเบื่องต้นเลนส์ที่ผมซื้อมาใช้ด้วยนั่น คือ เลนส์ 10-24 f4 และ 56 f1.2 […]

    […] ต่อมาประเด็นที่สอง ก็คือ กล้อง Fuji X-T1 นั้นจะดีพอสำหรับเอามาถ่ายงานแต่งงานได้หรือไม่ ด้วยที่ช่างภาพงานแต่งงานในบ้านเราที่ผมเคยเห็นเค้าก็ใช้แต่กล้อง DSLR กันทุกคน รวมถึงตัวผมด้วย ผมจึงได้หาข้อมูลเรื่องนี้เพิ่มเติมจากในอินเตอร์เน็ต บทความแรกๆ ที่ผมได้อ่าน คือ บทความ Nikon to Fuji ที่เจ้าของบทความเป็นผู้ที่ใช้กล้อง Nikon มามากกว่า 40 ปี แต่สุดท้ายก็ตัดสินใจมาใช้กล้องของ Fuji รวมทั้งบทความต่างๆ ของช่างภาพต่างประเทศ ที่ใช้กล้อง Mirrorless ของ Fuji ถ่ายภาพงานแต่งงาน ซึ่งบางคนก็ใช้กล้อง Fuji X100 กับงานของเค้ามาตั้งแต่ 2 ถึง 3 ปีก่อน รวมทั้งจากที่ผมได้อ่านรีวิวของกล้อง Fuji X-T1 จากเว็บไซท์ต่างๆ ที่ต่างพากันชื่นชมความเร็วในการโฟกัสของเจ้า Fuji X-T1 ประกอบกับที่ผมได้ลองจับตัวจริงตามร้านขายกล้อง และได้มีโอกาสลองใช้จากรุ่นพี่ที่รู้จัก จนในที่สุดผมจึงตัดสินใจขายกล้อง Nikon D800E พร้อมอุปกรณ์ทั้งหมดของผม เพื่อไปซื้อกล้อง Fuji X-T1 ซึ่งในเบื่องต้นเลนส์ที่ผมซื้อมาใช้ด้วยนั่น คือ เลนส์ 10-24 f4 และ 56 f1.2 […]

    mike bourgault said:
    March 29, 2015 at 2:56 pm

    found you by accident. started with a xpro1 that got stolen in salt lake city. i live in Tbilisi Georgia and use the XT! . i hike a lot in the Caucasus and i do not want to carry so much stuff around. when i started with fuji everyone thought i was crazy. maybe so but the camera and the lenses allow you to focus on making some photos. thanks for your honest essays. i have no idea who you really are but you seem very real to me.

Leave a Reply

