My Website

Posted on Updated on

_MKH9110-Edit

That’s the festival season all over; for another year.  I might now have time to catch up on my personal work and this blog! Hope all you guys are well and getting out there and shooting things..

Websites! I get asked all the time about websites, I have to be honest I don’t know a thing about websites! Well not quite true I know a little bit, I could take time out and learn but I am far too busy.

I decided about a year ago I was not happy with the layout of the one I had and the fact some of the site was clunky, I also wanted a site that looked like my 500PX feed and my Flicker feed and well as being able to offer me printing and images sales.

I wanted a trouble free solution that I could build myself in a very short space of time and add or change things as I went, as well as offer prints and downloads for sale and have a client area.

It was at last year’s TPS Photography show I was talking to Alastair Jolly UK Business Development manager at SmugMug. It was at that point I realised SmugMug was not just a website company it was a company that cared about you and welcomed you in to the family.

_MKH9095-Edit

Following a brief chat I decided to bite the bullet and change my previous provider over to SmugMug. I thought this process was going to be a nightmare, but it was simple, the Smug Mug team are there to guide you if you need help and the SmugMug Pro account was just perfect for all my needs.

I can’t go in to the technical side of the site but it was by far the best choice I had made.

I managed to have a brief look around at all the tools and then went for it! I had the site built and up and running in a day. I launched the site and within hours had an e mail to tell me I had sold an image! I was shocked as I had not even set up the pricing, so the poor guy had paid well over the odds for his print and postage as he was a UK buyer and the image came from the USA !  So I quickly updated the price lists and changed the Lab.

The site has now been up and running without a glitch for nearly 9 months and I love how simple the site is, every week I get a nice emailed analytic report on the site and I have checked this with Google Analytic’s, it looks very accurate, more than I can say for the last site that was miles out.

_MKH8889-Edit

I did not consider SmugMug at first as I thought it was an American site and would not help me with my business in the UK, but I was so wrong and even better SmugMug use LoxleyColour as there Print Partner who run an extremely tight ship,  with amazing prints well packaged and fast delivery times.

So if you are looking for an all in one photography site for your business, or just an amazing site to display your images and order prints now and then, SmugMug is the way forward.

I have had a trouble free 9 months and find it a breeze to update and amend any images or text.

So I am passing on a Discount code that you can use to set up your own account, I am sure SmugMug will welcome you as part of the family.

Code: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=fi4bCxIarmvwY

Web Site: www.lighttraveler.co.uk 

Leave a Reply

