Digital Splash 2014

Posted on Updated on

Splash (21)

I was asked to speak at Wilkinson Cameras Digital Splash on the 9th of November 2014 about my year of black and white. This was very exciting for many reasons but mainly because I was going to have a chance to show my work in print as well as in a digital presentation.

So I would like to thank Kerry Hendry for inviting me,and David, Paul and Alex for making it such a great weekend.

Splash (36)

My talks were sold out well before the event and the show was packed. Its always great to be able to talk to a crowded room.

Splash (41)

I don’t think people realise the time and commitment and cost that goes in to these shows, we are very lucky to have such great independents in the UK like Wilkinson Cameras.

I did over hear a few people looking at the gear at the show and handling it but talking about buying it from Amazon ! I still find this quiet a shock. I know it’s cheaper at times bit where is the money going and what will happen to these great businesses if we don’t support them!

I buy from my local camera shop because of the great customer service and the fact its easy to returning a product if a fault appears, I also like to know my  money vat and tax is going to support the local economy. In some cases it’s just a few pounds more to buy local so well worth the extra cost to keep the shops open in the high streets. Not just that, but these shops provide training and seminars all year round at some of their branches, so your money is also going to support education and training in photography skills.

Splash (46)

Its always great to be able to speak at any show and pass on the skills I have acquired over my 40+ years of taking pictures. My year of black and white was in 2013 and has been a great subject to talk about, I have been quite surprised at the amount of bookings from camera shops and camera clubs I have had.

Its always a pleasure and never a chore to work for such hard working people in this industry.

Thanks Guys …

Leave a Reply

