Desert Island Fuji

Posted on Updated on

I often get asked what would my desert Island camera be! This used to be a hard question in the days of the DSLRs but not anymore it’s very simple it’s the Fujifilm X100. It does not really matter what version of  X100 you have, they are all great. The X100 was a stunning camera and I am sure will go on to be a classic, the X100s was a big improvement and the X100T might not be a massive jump from the S but it’s worth every penny, after all the other two are so last year !

X100 Mersey Ferry
X100 Mersey Ferry

One of the main reasons for my desert island camera choice is the fixed lens, no dust or sand on the sensor is a big plus for me for a take anywhere camera. This camera fits in my pocket and can go anywhere I want all over the world and takes up no room. If you don’t add any of the great lenses and bolt on accessories this little camera even fits in your trouser pocket. I am not going to go in to the technical side of the X100T  you can find this information all over the internet. I am not going to tell you about all the great accessories or the two stunning add on lenses because I don’t use them, for one reason and one reason alone they make it bigger for my street work. However the Fujifilm Tele Conversion Lens TCL-X100 and the WCL-X100 Wide Angle Conversion Lens are on my must have list for my Travel Photography.

Fuji X100  Isle of Islay
Fuji X100 Isle of Islay

I am just going to share with you a few of my images I have shot with the X100 versions over the last couple of years. Besides I have to be 100% honest with you and say the last ever camera review I read was on the very first X100 and it sold it down the river! Yes I was late to the X100 because the reviews were not great. Some people still pick this camera up and don’t understand it. But to really appreciate this little camera you need to be stuck on a desert island with it. You will be calling it Wilson by the end of your stay ( for those that watched Cast Away )

X100 Ferry Isle of Mull
X100 Ferry Isle of Mull

I made a big mistake a couple of years back and sold my X100 ! I don’t even know why I did it but I missed it so much. Sounds crazy, when I first got my X100 it drove me nuts at times with its quirks and every time I looked at the image on the back of the screen I was convinced I had not nailed the focus, but I had. Once I had the images open in Lightroom I was happy and excited and wanted to get back out and shoot. It has its quirks but they are very easy to live with but the benefits outweigh any quirks tenfold. This little camera is a carry anywhere camera that packs a massive punch with its stunning sensor.

X100s Manchester
X100s Manchester     ISO 5000
X100S Manchester
X100S Manchester  ISO 5000

I have a few friends now that own the X100 the X100s and the X100T to be honest I know a large amount of people that are buying the X100 and they are shooting Fashion,Landscape,Street,Long Exposre and so much more.

X100 Applecross Bay
X100 Applecross Bay
X100 Isle of Islay
X100 Isle of Islay

For me the X100T is the go anywhere shoot anything camera and even better the X100T is so good looking you never put it away. Mine sits on my desk waiting to go out and shoot. I have a black one and this is my preferred colour for street photography, it suites my candid style.

X100T Liverpool
X100T Liverpool  ISO6400
X100 Whitby
X100 Whitby
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100
X100

Lets face it, with the X100T, you can have your cake and eat it…

X100T
X100T

2 thoughts on “Desert Island Fuji

    Desert Island Fuji | Fujifilm X Series APS C se... said:
    February 20, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    […] I often get asked what would my desert Island camera be! This used to be a hard question in the days of the DSLRs but not anymore it’s very simple it’s the Fujifilm X100. It does not really matter what version of X100 you have, they are all great. The X100 was a stunning camera and I am sure will go on to be a classic, the X100s was a big improvement and the X100T might not be a massive jump from the S but it’s worth every penny, after all the other two are so last year !  […]

    Andrew said:
    February 20, 2015 at 8:30 pm

    Very fine images. I own an X100 and X100s. I think your processing extracts the max from the files. The landscapes are dramatic and strong. Great choice for the desert island.

Leave a Reply

