Street Life

Posted on Updated on

TPSmatt-4 (1) Quite a long way back, I was asked to talk at The Photography Show by Marc Horner from FujiFilm UK. I had been a FujiFilm X Photographer for a while and was very excited to be able to represent Fuji at the show, easy decision to make ! I just said yes, and put it to one side it was months away and I had plenty of time to prepare. I did think about it every now and then and decided to get my good friend Gerallt Jones to shoot a short introduction Video to start my presentation. I wanted to keep it true to Fuji and have the short film shot on the Fuji X-T1 in black and white. We got together with a few of the Fujiholics on the 15th of February 2015 to shoot the film and I was not in a good place !! I idea of messing it up was getting to me big style.  I was freezing up to the camera, every time G asked me to speak I forgot what I was doing, it got so bad we dropped the voice parts and just went for a soundtrack! I think suddenly it all hit me in 34 days time I will be up on a stage and what if I forget what to say! That was going round and round in my head for a few days after the video shoot ! I just did not want to let Marc and FujiFilm down and was getting nervous. I teach courses all the time, and talk all the time but this was for FujiFilm and it was at the NEC ! I managed to stop looking at the great big Cake, and break it down in to small slices. I left the presentation to the last minute to finish off, and then put the  video on a flash drive and presentation on my lap top all backed up to a spare stick just in case I lost the first one ! Well time went by and I was fine very proud to be asked and was very excited, by the time we had got to the NEC and was relaxed and ready to go. We managed to get in to Hall 5 and see the StreetScape stage the night before and that was fine! Well it was big! Like a great big cake! But it was fine.. We made our way over to the Hotel and met up with the Fuji team and had a few drinks and everyone was excited about the show. We went up to our room and I got in to bed all relaxed then BOOM ! Great big Cake came back, 12.00,12.30,1.00,2.00,2.30,3.00,3.30 no matter how much I tried to think about every slice it was still a huge CAKE ! We made our way over to the show and I got set of for talk number one of my five talks for the weekend, and I was still stuck with a huge cake, all the normal nerves and worries about what can go wrong. We set up and a crowd started to form not just a couple of people at least 100 people were around the front of the stage, I thought I hope they all stay and don’t wonder off! Sip of water Video goes on I take my position and its time.. By the time I had got on the stage and started talking I was CAKE free ! 100 people had become 200 then 300 and I was having the time of my life and I did not swear once! What an amazing experience to get up on a stage and not only talk about my passion  for Street Photography but to be able to do it for FujiFilm UK. So thank you Marc Horner and FujiFilm for asking me to talk it was an amazing experience and thank you The Photography Show for the great stage set up, and the AV guys who relax you and make it all so simple ! One of the best experiences you can have as a photographer is talking about your work and your passion, so thanks every one that came to see me, I hope you got something useful out of my excited waffle ! If you want to come and see what I am all about then here is a list of my UK workshops for 2015 WORKSHOPS TPSmatt-7 TPSmatt-5 TPSmatt-3 TPSmatt-2 TPSmatt-1 Images above by Gerallt Jones Thanks for coming guys and listening  so intently to my Street Life talk… _MKH0633-Edit

Leave a Reply

