Its a Glass thing.

Posted on

My ongoing windows and coffee shops project have also crossed over with my 2015 Selfie project, and it’s all been very enjoyable.

Candid Street is still the way forward for me and it’s the way I like to work, that way I don’t change the dynamic or spoil anyone’s day.

_DSF0005-Edit

The selfie project comes to an end at the end of December 2015 but the windows project will continue.

I started the windows project as a journey of discovery, I have already learnt a lot along the way, it’s been and interesting journey so far but as I said at the start I am going to do this to death and then some.

It started by someone saying windows have been done to death in Street ! I thought possibly but until you do something to death you can’t learn from it can you? The SAS don’t just practice to recover a hostage from a plane just once do they? No they don’t, they do it over and over again training every day to make sure when the time comes its perfect.

DSCF1737-Edit

I have found with photography unless you go out day after day and work at it you do not learn your craft and cannot progress, my windows project has reinforced that with me.

DSCF2180-Edit

I started off with a Fujifilm X100T shooting Zone focus, but now for most of my project I have moved over to the X-T10 with 27mm lens and this is my preferred set up for window shots as it gets me very close to my subject. I now carry two X-T10s one with a 27mm lens and one with a 35mm lens or 90mm lens. It depends where I am going as to what lenses I use.

I like to get as close as I can to the glass, but in some city’s this is not easy due to obstructions on the pavements, so lenses with a little more reach are the order of the day, as long they are a fast prime they work well. I just don’t have time to use zooms out on the street by the time you have started to turn the zoom ring the subject has seen you and your little cloak of invisibility has dropped to the floor.

When I first started the project people were asking me if I used a Polarizer or any other filters, the answer is no, I love all the reflections they are all part of the image. Some single subjects sitting at a table need a little more to fill the frame and add interest so I just love waiting for the streets to fill up with people so I can fill the frame with interesting reflections, and mine for the selfie project.

DSCF2687-Edit

I have learned to love the glass but want to learn more and more about our relationship with the glass and how it works out there in the street! It’s like an invisible barrier that in some street circles seen as an easy option, but to do this right it’s not as easy as it looks. Time of was one hell of a learning curve! Pick lunch time for instance and everyone is eating, and that is of little interest to what I am trying to show in my Journey.

I do not have an end in sight for this project but one thing is for sure it’s not over yet.

DSCF2709-Edit

4 thoughts on “Its a Glass thing.

    deed said:
    October 30, 2015 at 2:56 pm

    I very fine idea, and interesting pictures that way. I will try that myself, if you don’t have anything against it.

    uniquefotoart said:
    November 5, 2015 at 10:07 am

    Keep doing it! Love the images you get.
    I (coincidentally) find I am building a “cafe society” project/thingy too. Your words inspire.

    I worried about window reflections (especially when a critic said I should have used a polariser or got out of the reflection). Now.. It’s my image …I don’t care.
    Cheers
    John

    Ron M said:
    November 12, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    Fabulous images!! Can you describe your focusing technique in more detail?

      matt6t6 responded:
      November 12, 2015 at 6:54 pm

      It all depends what camera I use but if I use AF I shoot single servo large green square AF at around f/4 for people close to the window or f/8 for people further back. If I shoot with the X100T I shoot in manual and set the focus distance to subject by guessing the distance using a marker in the street. I do this with the focus selector on the front of the camera set to M and use the back button AF button to focus, then the clutter button to shoot. Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

