PC to MAC

Posted on Updated on

DSCF3489-Edit

It’s taken me a long time to make this move. I have never seen the point in changing. What is the point in changing to a MAC when my PC set up is fine. Even though my laptop was driving me nuts I could see no advantage but with all the recent changes by Microsoft and Adobe  causing me so many issues, I decided to look for a new laptop to help solve these problems in one go. There lays the rub! I was fully aware that if I went the MacBook Pro route my PC would have to change to a MAC and this was holding me back from the swap.

DSCF3559-Edit

I purchased  a Qnap TS453 Pro NAS a few months back as I wanted a decent back up solution that I could gain access to anywhere in the world through an internet connection. The trouble was, my lap top was so slow I could not edit on the move and the changes made by Adobe and Windows 10 prevented Lightroom from working with my graphics card.

After talking to a few friends they convinced me to get a MacBook Pro, thank you Tim, Linda and Rich Waine.

DSCF3619-Edit

My mind was made up, I went out and got a MacBook Pro 15″ with Retina Display 2.8GHz Quad-core Intel i7,Turbo Boost up to 4.0GHz with 1TB Flash Storage.

Whilst in the apple store I got talking to the guy and he said “not getting a MAC then” ! I said how do you mean ? He said “thats one hell of a bit of kit that and will run your monitors”. I had already been told by a few friends that the MAC 4k and 5k screens hurt their eyes when editing after a while so this was great news, I did not need a MAC.

I already had a very nice Acer 27″ Monitor and this would work very well for the internet with facebook etc  so all I needed was a decent editing monitor. After a quick conversation with another few friends the toss up was NEC or Eizo and the Eizo won the day.

DSCF3583-Edit

So thanks to Cambrian Photography for such great service I now have the amazing Eizo ColourEdge CG277 27″ Self Calibrating Monitor.

The changeover was pain free and due to the fact I have my Lightroom and Photoshop on the cloud it was all very simple.

The only way to explain the changeover is like this, when you are used to making tea in your own home it’s simple. If you have to make tea in your friends house it takes a while to work out where things are but once you find the tea bags, cups and milk it’s all very simple.

It’s quite simply the best move I have ever made! I can take my MacBook with me and edit on the road and not have spend hours at my desk on my return home.

I can use three screens and configure the screens how I wish or even shut the MacBook and just work on the two 27″ monitors.

I have to confess it’s not all about Apple and Apple fan boys like people say it is. For photo editing it honestly is a no brainer. It’s not cheap to change over but once you realise you just need a MacBook Pro and that’s it then it’s simple. This thing is so fast as my friends kept telling me and even better, all very portable.

I will let you know how I get on in a few months but so far, I wish I had made the change years a go !

DSCF3573-Edit

Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year…

8 thoughts on “PC to MAC

    lefey said:
    December 10, 2015 at 8:18 am

    Ah cool, you are only a step away, then, from the iPad, and Fuji App. to see all your cameras see over wifi. Brilliant, Oh and syncing everything together with your iPhone. !

    Colin McLean said:
    January 1, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    I agree entirely. We made the change to a 27″ iMac nearly three years ago and it is such an intuitive environment to work in. I calibrate the screen monthly with a ColorMunki but to be honest the resulting differences are infinitessimal. If you are sending files off to print you have to be aware that Mac screens are bit bright so your prints will be dark but once you’re aware of that it’s no problem. I too have just acquired a MacBook Pro (13″ for portability) for editing on the road and its new retina screen is very impressive.

    I’m a Nikon D800 user with a substantial investment in Nikkor lenses but I do like my 2nd hand X-E1….

    Nate Naismith said:
    July 13, 2016 at 3:25 am

    Matt could you provide a bit more detail on the exact configuration you chose in the Mac Pro? Thinking of making the switch to Mac but want to be sure I’ve got enough power to process LR/PS/On1 files. Thanks.

      matt6t6 responded:
      July 13, 2016 at 8:49 am

      Apple don’t supply much in the way of upgrades so I just went for the maximum spec at the time. Biggest hard drive fastest processor and most memory. I am sure that’s all changed now so probably of no help to you. I just went for the highest spec MBP they make. That way I know I have a worry free few years and so far so good. No issues with LR or PS or video. The only issues have been Adobe upgrade issues causing performance issues. The MBP has been fine.

      Colin McLean said:
      July 13, 2016 at 9:02 am

      I bought a 13″MacBook Pro in December. After some thought and advice I had the RAM increased to 16GB, but stuck with the original, and not very large, storage. Instead I bought two portable external 1TB drives. I find that combination works fine for me, and I run both the latest Lightroom and Photoshop on it with no problems. Except one minor niggle is that if I edit an image in Lightroom the changes disappear when I move it back to the iMac on returning home, unless I’ve exported say as a jpeg. I think that I am not understanding something yet!

        matt6t6 responded:
        July 13, 2016 at 9:18 am

        You can get round the changes disappearing by building smart previews when you first import your images. You can then work on the images in Lightroom when disconnected from your hard drive. This only works with smart previews in Lightroom and not with plugins like Nik Suite.

        Colin McLean said:
        July 13, 2016 at 9:21 am

        Thanks Matt. We use such complex software these days that there is often some little trick that one has missed. Obliged to you.

        matt6t6 responded:
        July 13, 2016 at 9:22 am

        No worries, by the way you can go in and change your whole collection to smart previews but be warned it takes all night.

Leave a Reply

