Africa Oye

Posted on

With Africa Oye only a few days away I decided to take a quick look back at Africa Oye 2015, the first year I shot Oye 100% Fuji. Shooting in RAW as a black and white shooter has its advantages. I can look back and my work and see just how amazing colour really is with Fujifilm straight out of camera. Shooting black and white all my life has left me void of colour and now I am starting to crave colour ! So much so I now have my project pinned down for 2017.

I always like to look back at the images I shot the previous year at a festival so that I can look for new ideas and new angles to shoot at the next festival.

This time the look back made me crave colour ! I also have a few new ideas I can throw at Oye 2016.

_MKH3895
Fujifilm X-T1 50-140mm f/2.8

I was never a fan of Colour when I used to shoot on Nikon it always took me such a long time to try and process the images the way I wanted them to look never finding just quite the right texture or tonal range I could be happy with. But since I have been shooting Fuji I have been getting more and more excited about colour.

_MKH3462
Fujifilm X-T1 35mm f/1.4 

There is just something very special about the RAW files and I need to investigate this further.

_MKH3741
Fujifilm X-T1 50-140mm f/2.8

It very hard to leave black and white behind for me it’s the ultimate storytelling medium but I feel I need to start to explore colour as I have spend over 45 years exploring black and white.

_MKH3836
Fujifilm X-T1 50-140mm f/2.8

I guess colour can be hard and distracting when it comes to people but I feel it’s time to give it good go, so watch out for some more colour as we move in to 2017. One thing is for sure I will be trying out the XPro2 and the 16mm f/1.4 this year at Oye and can wait to see the results.

_MKH3638
X-T1 90mm f/2
_MKH3291
X-T1 90mm f/2
_MKH3204
XT1 50-140mm f/2.8
_MKH3092
X-T1 35mm f/1.4 
_MKH3051
X-T1 50-140mm f/2.8
_MKH3857
Fujifilm X-T1 50-140mm f/1.4 
2 thoughts on “Africa Oye

    John Campbell said:
    June 16, 2016 at 12:03 pm

    Hi Matt, if you use the Acros film simulation on the X-Pro2 you’ll, like me, revert back to your black & white roots. It’s superb. 😀

      matt6t6 responded:
      June 16, 2016 at 12:12 pm

      Hi John, I have been shooting black and white for 45 years. I have been using Acros Green from day one when I got my XPro2 last October. I will always be a black and white shooter but it’s time for me to experiment with colour.

Leave a Reply

