My First Camera

Posted on Updated on

dscf0034-edit
Fujifilm X-T1

One of the biggest questions most professional photographers get asked this time of year is “what camera should I buy my son or daughter for christmas”  we also get given a budget, some far too low but for the majority the figure is £500-£800. Below that figure there are some great little cameras about but they will not last long and the sensors are not up to helping your kids to progress, so in my view it’s a waste of money.

These days everyone thinks in terms of the DSLR is the camera to aim for but this is not the case. People ask me do I get a bridge camera then get a DSLR in a few years time?

dscf0133-edit
Fujifilm X-T1

People don’t understand how Mirrorless cameras have taken over from the DSLR in the last few years and just how great they are. I myself only use the Fujifilm X Series Mirrorless cameras for my professional work and most of my professional friends also use the Fujifilm X Series, not many people I know are using DSLRS.

Most parents go in to a shop and say “I am looking for a DSLR” but in fact they are looking for a camera and they just call it a DSLR. The sales assistant then goes in to overdrive to sell a DSLR, the parents can’t afford it and they go home to buy something from Amazon.

My advice this year has been to look out for great offers on the mirrorless cameras as this is a great starting point. You can pick up older models of the Fujifilm X Series like the X-T10 and the X-T1 at amazing prices and these camera bodies will be perfect for School, University and for any workshops or courses. The exposure triangle is on the outside of the camera and the sensors are a 1.5 crop the same as most of the DSLRs in there price range. This way instead of buying a compact or bridge camera that you throw away in  six months you have started to invest in a system. You can then go on to investing in lenses for birthdays and Christmas and eventually upgrade the body in a few years time.

There have been some amazing deals on the X-T10 and X-T1 over the last few months in UK retailers and this is where people should look for a bargain. I was talking to a guy last week who did a trade in and got double cash back and got an X-T10 for £290 ! All he had to do was buy a lens of his choice, he got a 18-55mm with cash back and is now wrapping it up for his son for Christmas.

I have used both of these cameras professionally and all the images on this blog were taken with these bodies and a variety of lenses. I mainly shoot Street Photography in black and white but in this post I have included a few colour images and some other genres of photography.

So my advice for Christmas or birthdays is look for bargains in Mirrorless Cameras even if it’s last year’s model your kids will thank you in the long run and you wont have wasted money on a camera you will throw away.

I bought both my Sons Fujifilm X-T10 kits with 18-55mm lenses last christmas and they both love the cameras.

My first camera was given to me by my parents and it was a 35mm Film Camera that was the camera that made me fall in love with photography. I then saved up for two years to buy my first Nikon FM2, I used that camera for over 20 years. So I think it’s important to choose very carefully for your kids. If my parents had got me the wrong camera at the start I might not have fallen in love with photography the way I did.

_mkh5548-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_mkh5940-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_mkh6048-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_mkh0327-edit-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_mkh1056-edit-2
Fujifilm X-T1
_dsf5375-edit
Fujifilm X-T10
_mkh9471-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_mkh9264-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_mkh7019-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_mkh3857-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_dsf0170-edit
Fujifilm X-T10
_dsf5320-edit
Fujifilm X-T10
_mkh4001-edit
Fujifilm X-T10
_mkh4495-edit
Fujifilm X-T10
_dsf5767-edit
Fujifilm X-T10
_mkh6074-edit
Fujifilm X-T1
_dsf4167-edit
Fujifilm X-T10
dscf2762-edit
Fujifilm X-T10
3 thoughts on “My First Camera

    jhoudephotography said:
    December 13, 2016 at 5:49 pm

    Wonderful photos!

      matt6t6 responded:
      December 13, 2016 at 7:53 pm

      Cheers 🙂

    Richard Owen said:
    December 14, 2016 at 1:49 pm

    My wife let me buy my first “real” camera in 1977. It was a tossup between a Pentax K1000 and and Olympus OM-10. The Oly felt like half the weight of the K1000 and was my choice. For the next 20+ years, I shot Olympus eventually upgrading to the OM-2S and the OM-4T bodies. But it wasn’t so much the camera that inspired my photography (I eventually spent years doing part-time editorial work and even had a stint as a fulltime news photographer) but seeing my first roll of film that I developed at home! Cameras are just the tools and I eventually shifted to Nikon and autofocus and finally spent a decade with a pair of Nikon D2H bodies that I still miss today. But, since retiring, I have shifted to the light weight of the Fuji X-System (X-E1 and X100S) and primes and am trying to follow in the footsteps of the early photojournalists like Cartier-Bresson, Doisneau and the like. If anything in past is an indicator, my pair of Fuji bodies may be my last. Currently, at almost four years and counting with them and not a trace of G.A.S.!!!

Leave a Reply

