Venice X100F

Posted on Updated on

BRFFUK0002 FUJIFILM X PHOTOGRAPHER BADGE-H UK_MATT HART

I was last in Venice with the Fujifilm XPro1 back in 2013 and have been missing it like crazy for the last four years. I have just got back from Venice with Paul to run a Fujiholics workshop. The weather was a mixed bag but Venice gets so busy it is always at its best out of season.  My favorite times of the year are October, late February or early March.

I took with me the X100F, XPro2, XT2 and will write about the others when I get time after TPS and probably next month.

I decided to just use the X100F with Jpegs only as part of my 2017 Year of Colour, forcing myself to just use Jpegs with no RAW backup was the name of the game. So I set the camera to Image Quality Fine, Film Simulation Velvia, Dynamic Range 200, White Balance Auto, Highlight Tone -1 and Shadow Tone +1 to start off with.

I was editing the images out in Venice on the Ipad Pro with Snapseed and as part of this process in the end decided to set the Highlight and Shadow tones back to 0 for now and just make the changes in Snapseed. I have always wanted to be able to process very quickly so making changes in camera confuses me at times because I find myself undoing the changes I made in camera at the processing stage.

I must point out all the images in this blog are shot on a preproduction X100F.

MKHF0401
X100F ISO 640 1/640 sec f/3.2

Even though I am a Candid Street Photographer I have included a few other images here from my trip.  Venice is an amazing place for photography. I have never seen so many cameras in all my life as I did on this trip but that was probably down to the fact the carnival was just finishing as the workshop started. There are some seriously big back packs around in those small alleys thats for sure !

MKHF0378
X100F ISO 800 1/640 sec f/4
MKHF0360
X100F ISO 3200 1/4000 sec f/4

The only downside to this time of year is the ever changing light, even though the colours don’t have quite the same depth and beauty in the shade or shadow, I do like the way the X100F handles the fast changes with the Auto ISO, I know most people are scared to ramp up the ISO but I haven’t ever worried about this and set mine to Auto with the base at 200 ISO and the Max at 6400 ISO. I know you can ramp it up to 12800 but there was no need during the day. I do prefer what you see is what you get and if it’s dull its dull, you can’t have great weather and images all the time. This is the down side to colour photography and this is a great learning curve for me on my Year of Colour.

MKHF0361
X100F ISO 4000 1/4000 sec f/4

I used to shoot manual all the time but for Street I prefer aperture priority. That way I can just get on and shoot and not have to worry too much about the camera settings. I do switch back to manual when I have more time on my hands to think and compose.

MKHF0352
X100F ISO 3200 1/4000 sec f/4
MKHF0354
X100F ISO 6400 1/4000 sec f/4

I do quite like breaking the rules and playing around with camera settings when I get a new camera. It is always interesting to see how the combinations of ISO and shutter speed affect the tones in the images. I have to know what I can get away with in what light and at what speed.

MKHF0286-Edit
X100F ISO 3200 1/250 sec f/4
MKHF0335
X100F ISO 4000 1/200 sec f/5.6

Venice is an amazing place and feels so safe to wonder about day or night, so it’s a great place to walk around with your camera. I caught the last few days of the carnival so managed to capture a few of the interesting characters. I have to say I love the X100F, it’s a great upgrade from the X100T and the sensor is stunning.  The lens is a little soft at f/2 as it was on the X100T but I shoot most of my work around f/4 anyway these days so its not a big issue for me. Its great to now have a battery that lasts most of the day, but that was also not much of an issue for me on the X100t once you realise your camera’s limits you can compensate yourself. I used to carry 3 batteries for my X100T and for the X100F I carry two.

MKHF0391
X100F ISO 6400 1/800 sec f/4
MKHF0396
X100F ISO 1250 1/640 sec f/4
MKHF0395
X100F ISO 1000 1/640 sec f/4

I do like the way all Fujifilm cameras handle colour and black and white. I used to shoot Nikon and it was a real pain in the bum trying to get Nikon RAW files to look the way I wanted in colour and the Jpegs were worse. The images in this blog are all Jpegs and only had Lightroom cc edits and most of them have had only slight changes with a crop or minor contrast of clarity changes. I can’t bring myself yet to just use out of camera jpegs due to the fact I need a colour style and that is what 2017 is all about. I do however think if you just take images for you and you dont need a style then you could just set the camera up to shoot Jpeg and with a few changes in the settings you would not need to process the images and you could just use the Jpegs with no editing and this is amazing ! In the days of social media you can just wifi the Jpegs from camera on the fly and you are done. The X100F is just perfect to carry in your pocket everywhere you go and makes a great street travel camera.

With its fixed lens you have no worries about sensor cleaning and if you wanted to, you could add the conversion lenses to your collection and still not have sensor dust issues.

With the addition of the Digital Zoom this is a serious amount of reach for a pocket camera, the TCL-X100 Converter will give you 50mm, 72mm, and 100mm reach.

MKHF0313
X100F ISO 400 1/160 sec f/4
MKHF0269
X100F ISO 200 1/640 sec f/8
MKHF0256
X100F ISO 320 1/1000 sec f/4
5 thoughts on “Venice X100F

    allentimphotos2 said:
    March 9, 2017 at 6:03 am

    A very nice series.

    Venice X100F | Fuji-X Photography | Scoop.it said:
    March 10, 2017 at 5:49 am

    […] I was last in Venice with the Fujifilm XPro1 back in 2013 and have been missing it like crazy for the last four years. I have just got back from Venice with Paul to run a Fujiholics workshop. The weather was a mixed bag but Venice gets so busy it is always at its best…  […]

    Venice X100F | Fujifilm X Series APS C sensor c... said:
    March 10, 2017 at 8:21 pm

    […] I was last in Venice with the Fujifilm XPro1 back in 2013 and have been missing it like crazy for the last four years. I have just got back from Venice with Paul to run a Fujiholics workshop. The weather was a mixed bag but Venice gets so busy it is always at its best…  […]

    Venice X100F | Fuji X News | Scoop.it said:
    March 11, 2017 at 7:54 am

    […] I was last in Venice with the Fujifilm XPro1 back in 2013 and have been missing it like crazy for the last four years. I have just got back from Venice with Paul to run a Fujiholics workshop. The weather was a mixed bag but Venice gets so busy it is always at its best…  […]

    Venice X100F – Fotoblogs said:
    April 18, 2017 at 1:31 pm

    […] via Venice X100F — Lighttraveler […]

Leave a Reply

