Holiday Habit

Posted on Updated on

BRFFUK0002 FUJIFILM X PHOTOGRAPHER BADGE-H UK_MATT HART

MKHF0761
X100F Iso 200 1/900 f/6.4

I have always taken quite a lot of camera gear with me on holiday and it’s become a habit that I have struggled to quit, until now.

With the Fujifilm X System the kit is so much less than DSLR gear, but it’s still quite a lot of gear once you add an extra body, a tripod, some filters etc.  I have noticed over the last few trips I don’t use it as much as I did.  You guys know me for my black and white Street work but I still love my landscape. The downside to Landscape is all the gear you tend to pack. I also am not a fan of over processed Landscape work as I like to capture the world as I see it and not chop and change things around in Photoshop so have always packed lots of filters and a tripod. This is a personal choice and there is nothing wrong with people who create amazing Landscape in PS I just prefer to keep my Landscape work as real as my Street.

The last break Jane and I had, I just put the Fujifilm X100F in my pocket and went on holiday. Crazy I know and as I drove off I nearly turned round to go get all the gear but stuck with my gut and went for it.

I had the best break and took a few shots to remind me of the break and decided from that moment on to just take one camera and one lens away with me when not working.

MKHF0833-Edit-Edit
Fujifilm X100F ISO400 1/1900 f/5.00I dont normally explain my images but In the image above I loved this tree and all the walls etc and the vapour trail reminded me of all the Airport Stress that people put themselves through for a trip out of the UK.

 

On our recent trip to North Yorkshire I decided to take the X100F again and this time I managed to capture a few Landscape shots and have suddenly fallen back in love with the beauty of our Landscape and the simplicity of a single camera in my pocket. It was bliss to be able to walk for miles and miles without tons of gear.

I then remembered why I changed to the Fujifilm X System, to keep things simple and to keep the weight down. You soon get caught up in having to take so much gear with you to take photos but really it is all just down to the 6″ behind the viewfinder not all the gear you have in the bag. You can create amazing Long Exposure effects without your filters and tripod etc but I have found this was holding me back from walking further and exploring all the amazing hills and mountains like I used to.

I did have a chuckle to myself half way down the track from Malham Cove when a guy passed me with a huge camera bag full of gear and massive Tripod strapped to his back with sweat pouring off his face. Jane even looked at me and said “He looks like he is having a great day!”

MKHF0784-Edit
X100F Iso 200 1/1500 f/8.0 

I can safely say I have just had one of the most relaxing holiday in ages and one of the reasons was not having to decide every day what camera and lens I was going to put in what bag and what tripod or filters I was going to take with me.

MKHF0783-Edit
X100F 1/1900 f/5

 

I really cant wait for my next trip out now,  to go and explore our amazing countryside with the X100F keeping it as simple as possible.

MKHF0827-Edit
X100F 1/1400 F/4
2 thoughts on “Holiday Habit

    Geoff said:
    May 28, 2017 at 6:20 pm

    Matt, I have just been to Venice for 3 days, I took my X100F and WCL and thats all I used for the whole trip, I did have my XP2 and a few lenses but they stayed in the hotel. It’s so invigorating to travel light!!
    Great article

    Geoff

      matt6t6 responded:
      May 28, 2017 at 7:28 pm

      Very much so, for travel abroad now it will just be my X100F.

Leave a Reply

