Trip to Leeds

Posted on Updated on

BRFFUK0002 FUJIFILM X PHOTOGRAPHER BADGE-H UK_MATT HART

I have decided to do shorter blog posts and try to add more of my travel ! I hate writing being Dyslexic but have decided if I write more about my travel and write shorter blog posts  I might actually write more posts !

I travel quite a bit with my work in the UK and hardly ever blog about it, so decided to try and address that. I use the Rail network quite a bit and hardly ever talk about that or the Hotels I stay in and why ! So as well as boring you with my photography I might as well bore you with my travel.

When I book my trains I book at least 12 weeks in advance to take advantage of the cheaper rail fares, that way I can book a first class ticket for the price of standard and that for me makes all the difference to a busy train journey.   I will come on to how I book and what the advantages are in future posts.

I don’t always book hotels in advance and use a combination of Travelodge, Premier Inn and Booking.com . I have been travelling the UK for work for over 10 years now so know some of the best and worst hotels.  My bookings are based on location and best rooms for the price also how comfy the beds are. I probably wont include my Camper Van adventures as they are on Instagram as @Lighttravelerx but I will go into this in more detail in future blogs.

It was Jane’s Birthday weekend so I decided to take her to Leeds and trust me you need a First Class ticket from Liverpool to Leeds and return. These trains are always packed and mostly standing room only so a booked seat in First Class gets you a drink and a snack but most of all it gets you a seat and for less than a standard fair if booked 12 weeks before !

I booked the Hilton Doubletree and  compared to London Hotel prices this was cheap. I paid £240 for one night in the Travelodge in London a few weeks back and this was cheaper for two nights and only 2 minutes from the station.

I decided to take just my Xpro2 and my 18-55mm lens, mainly because I always use primes and wanted a change so did not want to be running around shooting Street.

MKH20125
XPro2 18-55mm at 18mm ISO4000 1/250 sec f/8

I have been to leeds a few times but never had a chance to explore due to the fact I have always been for work so wanted to take my camera even if it was just for reference shots.

I have walked past the Corn Exchange a few times but never been in. Glad we went in this time as I hear it’s just been sold ! So who knows what the new owner will do with it !

It’s an amazing place and so very relaxing when you get inside, love the Proper Camera Shop at the top of the stairs.

MKH20132
Xpro2 18-55mm at 45mm ISO 800 1/250sec F/4 

I forgot just how great this 18-55mm lens is ! I think the last time I used it was over 5 years ago and need to use it more often ! Image stabilization is great and it’s so light and easy to carry and so very sharp for what is a Kit Lens !

I guess no trip to Leeds is complete without a trip to the  Royal Armories. What a relaxing walk it was along the canal from the Hotel. You will notice from my future blogs I try to walk everywhere. It’s amazing what you find and see if you just walk and don’t get tempted by Uber ! Love the Dock next to the Royal Armories building and we were nearly tempted to take a water taxi but decided to walk back.

MKH20136
XPro2 18-55mm at 18mm ISO250  1/250 sec f/10

I was not shooting Street so this 18-55mm lens was just so perfect bolted to the front of my camera all day. I have told myself off for not taking it with me everywhere I go as it’s just so versatile.

My train from Liverpool to Leeds was £25 and from Leeds to Liverpool £30 First Class Booked in Advance and the Hotel Was on a Booking.com offer at £214 for two night.

I will be in Bristol next weekend for a my last workshop with Calumet UK on the Friday and the Fujiholics Bristol Photowalk on the Saturday #FujiholicsBRIS17 I am not looking forward to the long train Journey and it wont be First Class this time as there is no advantage in seats or food etc

Have a great week..

I will leave you with this fantastic building which reminds me of the Flat Iron Building. We do have some amazing buildings in the UK.

MKH20142

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Trip to Leeds

    You had me at party said:
    August 7, 2017 at 9:33 pm

    Some fantastic photographs of Leeds! I especially like the shots of the Corn Exchange.

      matt6t6 responded:
      August 7, 2017 at 11:12 pm

      Thanks.

Leave a Reply

