Xpro1 and XE2 v Nikon D3s

Posted on

Image

I was going to wait for the XPro2 to arrive at some point next year, but just could not wait! I needed a back up camera for my XPro1 and when the XE2 came out, it just looked so good. I hear a rumor the XPro2 will be weather sealed, this is great news. I know everyone else would like a full frame model but this would impact on my investment in Fujinon lenses, so hope the XPro2  is still a crop sensor. 

I decided to have a look around at some of the early images posted by Kevin Mullins and some of the other Fuji guys and decided I had to have one, so put my order in to Cambrian Photography in Wales, so a big thank you to Sarah, only a three day wait for a new camera was well worth it.  If you live in the North West or North Wales I can recommend a trip to Cambrian Photography! The place is just full of great camera gear and they have a great coffee shop across the road and fish and chip shop close by!  But be warned they have most of what you want on the shelf and in stock so take your credit card!!

I decided to give the XE2 a day out at Chester Zoo, a little strange you might think for a mirror less camera that is supposed to be slow!   You could be right, but I am going to be shooting events in some low light situations in 2014 and need to see what this little camera can do. I opted to try the Fujinon 55-200mm 3.5-4.8 lens, the main reason for this was my preferred set up in 2013 was a 300mm 2.8 Sigma on a Nikon D3s so I wanted to see what I would be missing and how well the XE2 would cope !

I was not putting the XE2 up against the D3s just wanted to know how differently I will have to work next year, I did however get a good feel of the XE2 as compared to the XPro1 and now know how I will have to set myself up for my first event.

The XE2 has lost the View Mode button in to the menu’s this is the only annoying thing I found about the XE2 over the Xpro1. You can’t shoot and review the images on the rear screen using the EVF only! You can review the images in the EVF but the main reason I use the rear screen is to check focus, so this is very annoying, hopefully Fuji will fix this in a future update. One thing I do like is the fact you can now Zoom in to the image on the rear screen and the EVF to check focus and you can assign this to a function button, this is a welcome update.

I can tell you all that the focus is faster and the time lag on the shutter button is so much better than the Xpro1, I can’t compare it to the XE1 as I have not owned one.

 I was shooing in the Zoo on an overcast cloudy day in very low fading light, so I set the XE2 to Auto ISO letting the camera sort out the ISO whilst I sorted out the Aperture and Shutter Speed.

I have got to say I was very impressed with the XE2 and the 55-200mm lens, it’s a strange combination, the lens is quite big for the body so it’s all out of balance but it does not take too long to get used to the set up, you can shoot with this set up all day without getting arm and shoulder ache, for me that’s a bonus. It’s not a D3s with a huge fast prime but in low light my D3s used to struggle to focus. The XE2 is not as fast as the D3s but its only fractions of a second off the focus and in some cases it might find focus when the Nikon cant, so that will be interesting at an event !  It’s a lot faster than the XPro1, so that’s a positive step in the right direction.   The image stabilization on the 55-200mm is amazing! When I first put the lens on the XE2 with OIS turned off I thought I had made a big mistake and wasted my money on this lens, but when you turn on the OIS the lens is a different beast! I would say the OIS is stunning! I was shocked at how quiet and stable it made the lens, so much so that you can shoot at quite low shutter speeds and still have sharp images from this set up.

I have to say the light faded very quickly so the XE2 was put under a lot of pressure for its first time out of the box, I was not expecting a lot and due to the fact I set it up to EVF only,  I did not have a chance to review my shots until I got home.  When I did see the results I was happy! More than happy!

 Last year in Applecross Scotland I had an Otter follow me along the shore line and only having my X100 with me I could not get the shot, I was annoyed with myself for not bringing my D3s out that day, but at the same time I was happy not to have to carry all that gear with me ! That day and my event work was the reason I decided to buy this 55-200mm lens, it’s not as good as a fast prime but I am quite sure that when Fuji do bring out some fast prime telephotos or zooms they will be very impressive.

I am not going to go in to the technical side of the Fuji XE2 or the XPro1, there are plenty of places for that on the web for that, but I will say I am so glad I sold all my Nikon Pro gear and went over to Fuji. Size and weight alone is a big reason, the Fuji crop sensors are stunning, I have used most of the Nikon crop sensor cameras and I can tell you they do not come close to the sensor in the Fuji X series!   You can crop the hell out of the Fuji image and even at 100% crop have a great image. I don’t often, if at all crop my images, but for the people that do this is the sensor for cropping.

 The day Fuji bring out a Full frame sensor if they do, I think they will cause quite a stir in the photography world, to be honest I am happy with the crop sensor and not sure I need to go back to full frame, I did say to myself that if I needed to go full frame after selling all my Nikon gear I would just hire it for the job, but so far I have just shot everything slightly differently.

I have some spare time next Friday to get back to Chester Zoo, so will give the XE2 a bit more of a test and try to get some movement for you, I always find the winter is a good time, as they Cats are a lot more active in the cold than lazing around in the summer sun.

 

The one surprise of the day was the tiger cub image at the top of this post, it was shot at 200mm (300mm 35mm EQ)  ISO 6400 1/100 sec. f/4.8  I have got to say I was not expecting that !

I am defiantly looking forward to my next year’s project now using only a couple of Fuji cameras and can’t wait to what they can do at events. 

14 thoughts on “Xpro1 and XE2 v Nikon D3s

    Steinar Knai said:
    March 22, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    How can you write a photo review without one photo image? Disappointing really and a waste of time!

      matt6t6 responded:
      March 22, 2014 at 5:55 pm

      You need to get a life ! Its a blog from my website ! There is an image at the top of the page ! The point of the post does not need images and if you were a follower of my work and you are clearly not, you would not make such a stupid comment ! Nothing else better to do with your day I guess ! Looking at your blog 90% of your blog is other peoples work ! Says it all !

        Timothy Schulz said:
        January 20, 2015 at 12:44 pm

        Wow… what a hyper sensitive and childish reaction to a legitimate critique. I’ve seen you blog photos. Some are good some are not and most are mediocre.

        matt6t6 responded:
        January 20, 2015 at 2:21 pm

        Not quite sure what its got to do with you ! Nearly a year later someone else you, who has nothing to do all day feels like making unjust comment. It is not legitimate critique far from it, its my blog and I can write it any way I wish and include as few or as many images as I choose. I have not seen a set of rules to follow to write my blog. I did not ask for critique and my view on critique is well known, I have even blogged my view Critique You then decide to critique my images in a childish manner and then call me childish ! I find people always reflect who they are in what they write. You might not like any of my work, that’t your choice, why not just ignore my work and blog and follow some ones work you do like ? Thank you for an honest review of my work ! I will always find it strange how people like yourself and the guy who wrote the first comment feel the need to spend their time being rude to people ! You don’t know me in real life so how can you judge me ? I will now get back to my editing and send my mediocre images of to my clients who quite clearly don’t have a clue….

    mark said:
    March 23, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    nice one matt! i’m mark from holland and i’f stumbled on your blog because i was sourcing for info on the fuji x-e2 and x-pro1 which to pick.. and find your blog extremely inspiring i’m gonne follow you from now and hope you post a lot more and many if i made my choice which fuji i’m gonne start some site,blog or other social thing to spread my photo creativity. greats mark
    ps, sorry if my english is not that fantastic 😛

      matt6t6 responded:
      March 23, 2014 at 10:41 pm

      Thanks Mark and your English is fine, I will be writing plenty more on Fuji over the coming months. I started Fujiholics on Facebook and Google + as well as twitter and Instagram. So please come find us all.

    Jos said:
    March 25, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    Matt,
    Nice review and i you are right.
    I did exactly the same, sold mij D3s, D700 and lenses and bought me a X-Pro 1, X-E2 and lenses.
    It was a hard decission after almost 30 years using Nikons, but i don’t regret.
    No more heavy gear on my sholder and great pics, the only negative experience is when i com on a job people don’t take me seriouse with my small cam’s 🙂 but on the other hand it’s perfect for sneaky shots becouse i look like a tourist.

    Greets from Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

    Jos

    Paul Szilard said:
    March 28, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Very interesting reading. I have a D4 with 70-200/2.8, 85/1.4, 35/1.4 and a few more lenses. I also love my Fuji X kit, and recently added an X-T1 to my X-PRO1 and X100s, and have the 55-200, 18-55, 10-24 zooms and 56 and 35 primes. The reason I am listing all this is that I am trying to decide about quality comparisons between the two outfits. Obviously the Fuji X is a lot lighter to carry and most of the time quality is great, but I am not convinced that it can match the Nikon 70-200/2.8. I am still making tests, which is why I read your post with interest. Perhaps I will nick down to our zoo in Sydney for a comparo.

    Anyway, keep shooting and keep writing…

    […] Xpro1 and XE2 v Nikon D3s at matthewhartphotography: “I am not going to go in to the technical side of the Fuji XE2 or the XPro1, there are […]

    Xpro1 and XE2 v Nikon D3s | Matthew Hart | Phot... said:
    November 18, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    […] I was going to wait for the XPro2 to arrive at some point next year, but just could not wait! I needed a back up camera for my XPro1 and when the XE2 came out, it just looked so good. I hear a rumor the XPro2 will be weather sealed, this is great news. I know everyone else would like a full frame model but this would impact on my investment in Fujinon lenses, so hope the XPro2 is still a crop sensor. I decided to have a look around at some of the early images posted by Kevin Mullins and some of the other Fuji guys and decided I had to have one, so put my order in to Cambrian Photography in Wales, so a big thank you to Sarah, only a three day wait for a new camera was well worth it. If you live in the North West or North Wales I can recommend a trip to Cambrian Photography! The place is just full of great camera gear and they have a great coffee shop across the road and fish and chip shop close by! But be warned they have most of what you want on the shelf and in stock so take your credit card!! I decided to give the XE2 a day out at Chester Zoo, a little strange you might think for a mirror less camera that is supposed to be slow! You could be right, but I am going to be shooting events in some low light situations in 2014 and need to see what this little camera can do. I opted to try the Fujinon 55-200mm 3.5-4.8 lens, the main reason for this was my preferred set up in 2013 was a 300mm 2.8 Sigma on a Nikon D3s so I wanted to see what I would be missing and how well the XE2 would cope ! …..  […]

    psxdadz said:
    January 17, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    Paul you are correct can not match DSLR for tracking i have both and the 50-140mm fuji

    Xpro1 and XE2 v Nikon D3s | Fuji X-Pro2 | Scoo... said:
    February 21, 2015 at 9:38 pm

    […] I was going to wait for the XPro2 to arrive at some point next year, but just could not wait! I needed a back up camera for my XPro1 and when the XE2 came out, it just looked so good. I hear a rumo…  […]

    Isaac said:
    February 4, 2016 at 5:55 am

    Hey Matt,
    Enjoyed reading your write up! I understand it’s been awhile since you wrote this review. What do u think about the build quality of the Xe2? Dos it feel hollow or too light? And also how the IQ of the xe2 compares to the pro 1?

      matt6t6 responded:
      February 4, 2016 at 7:01 am

      All the mirrorless cameras have the toy camera feel in a way that’s the beauty of the design. The XE2 for me was just not intuitive enough in its function. The XPro1 is the better camera and still has the best sensor of the bunch only being bettered by the XPro2. Some people love the Xe1 and Xe2 but they were not for me. The Xe1 at least had the view mode button, when they made the Xe2 they hid that in the menue. The made it a little better with firmware updates but it was still no where near as intuitive as the XPro1.

Leave a comment