Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8

Posted on Updated on

DSCF1736-Edit

I have been shooting with the Fuji X System now for since June 2012 and as many people know have fallen head over heels in love with the brand.

DSCF1732-Edit

Over this time I have used most of the cameras and lenses but a few have slipped through my fingers.

Back in the summer a friend of mine posted his 27mm lens on facebook in the Fujiholics group for sale and it was such a great price I thought I would just buy it even if I used it now and then it looked so small I could just pop it in my pocket !

DSCF1706-Edit

So the deal was done and the lens was mine, I bolted it on to my X-T10 and its been on there ever since!

I love shooting with both my X-T10’s when out and about and normally the 35mm f/1.4 and the 90mm f/2 are my walk about kit this little lens has taken over from the 35mm lens, I still carry the 35mm f/1.4 with me for when the light drops off in the evening or for adding the little bit of length back in the shot but as lenses go this 27mm lens is just perfect for the X-T10.

With the 27mm f/2.8 on the X-T10 it about the same size as the X100T making it perfect size for my go everywhere Street camera for when I was to shoot using the super fast AF system on the X-T10.   I always used to shoot my X100T on manual and zone focus but the X-T10 changed all that for me, I now shoot AF all the time and the focus tracking is spot on.

DSCF1875-Edit

I set the focus area to large square and focus mode selector  to C (continuous AF) I can just about nail anyone walking about in the street, with a quick flick of the switch back to S ( single AF) for anything static.

This little lenses with is 40mm full frame equivalent view is something I have been missing for a while, the X100T was just a little to wide for me with is 23mm lens and even though I still love that camera the X-T10 has taken over.

It’s one of those lenses that you wished you had purchased from the start and a stunning take anywhere everyday lens take up no room, I don’t even bother with a lens hood as I don’t want to change the size of the set up.

I just can’t wait to get out and shoot with this lens, its like a little pancake addiction !

All I need now is the coffee..

DSCF2027-Edit

10 thoughts on “Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8

    Steve Farrell said:
    October 31, 2015 at 8:55 am

    Wow! These are fantastic Matt. Great work…

    Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8 | Mirrorless Cameras | ... said:
    October 31, 2015 at 9:34 am

    […] I have been shooting with the Fuji X System now for since June 2012 and as many people know have fallen head over heels in love with the brand. Over this time I have used most of the cameras and le…  […]

    Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8 | Fujifilm X Series APS ... said:
    October 31, 2015 at 11:12 am

    […] I love shooting with both my X-T10’s when out and about and normally the 35mm f/1.4 and the 90mm f/2 are my walk about kit this little lens has taken over from the 35mm lens, I still carry the 35mm f/1.4 with me for when the light drops off in the evening or for adding the little bit of length back in the shot but as lenses go this 27mm lens is just perfect for the X-T10.  […]

    Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8 | Matthew Hart said:
    October 31, 2015 at 2:10 pm

    […] Sourced through Scoop.it from: matthewhartphotography.wordpress.com […]

    Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8 | the view from the left... said:
    November 1, 2015 at 5:42 pm

    […] I have been shooting with the Fuji X System now for since June 2012 and as many people know have fallen head over heels in love with the brand. Over this time I have used most of the cameras and lenses but a few have slipped through my fingers.  […]

    uniquefotoart said:
    November 5, 2015 at 9:50 am

    I saw so many reviews of this great lens – for such a great price – I got one as well.

    I agree with you that it is perfect for street photography. So quick to focus, very discreet and above all great image quality.

    I am starting to worry I might dump my Nikon D800 and shift 100% to Fuji.

    Great blog by the way. Although my WordPress blog doesn’t really show it at all – we shoot a lot of similar stuff! Cafes and Windows are my “thing” too!

    Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8 | Matthew Hart | Fuji X ... said:
    November 9, 2015 at 9:19 am

    […] I have been shooting with the Fuji X System now for since June 2012 and as many people know have fallen head over heels in love with the brand. Over this time I have used most of the cameras and lenses but a few have slipped through my fingers. Back in the summer a friend of mine posted his 27mm lens on facebook in the Fujiholics group for sale and it was such a great price I thought I would just buy it even if I used it now and then it looked so small I could just pop it in my pocket ! So the deal was done and the lens was mine, I bolted it on to my X-T10 and its been on there ever since! I love shooting with both my X-T10’s when out and about and normally the 35mm f/1.4 and the 90mm f/2 are my walk about kit this little lens has taken over from the 35mm lens, I still carry the 35mm f/1.4 with me for when the light drops off in the evening or for adding the little bit of length back in the shot but as lenses go this 27mm lens is just perfect for the X-T10. With the 27mm f/2.8 on the X-T10 it about the same size as the X100T making it perfect size for my go everywhere Street camera for when I was to shoot using the super fast AF system on the X-T10. I always used to shoot my X100T on manual and zone focus but the X-T10 changed all that for me, I now shoot AF all the time and the focus tracking is spot on……..  […]

    Fuji X News | Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8 said:
    June 1, 2016 at 1:11 am

    […] Fujifilm XF 27mm f/2.8 […]

    Mike said:
    January 27, 2021 at 2:13 am

    Can I ask how you do your B&W conversions? I like your tonality.

      matt6t6 responded:
      January 27, 2021 at 8:06 am

      Hi Mike, it’s mostly Silver Effex Pro but also I use Lightroom. Over the last year it’s been more phone edits so SnapSeed. But I mainly use SilverEfex for the conversion. I think I wrote about it in my blog so you could search Silver Efex and see if it comes up.

Leave a comment