The Stunning X-T10

Posted on Updated on

What can I say, I have owned or still own every X series camera that Fuji have made and so far the X-T10 is the star. I love my X-T1 and should prefer it to the X-T10,  I actually do when I am shooting events in the rain and need a battery grip but the rest of the time the X-T10 is my go to camera.

I am never one for a technical review. I like to use a camera over a few months and see how it works for me in the real world.

_DSF0048-Edit

I used to take the X100T everywhere I went but now its the X-T10. Its so small and with the 27mm pancake lens its just the best street camera in the range. I have also found myself using it for long exposure workshops instead of the X-T1.

_MKH4623-Edit-2

I think the autofocus is just a little bit faster than the X-T1 and the images from RAW appear to be a little cleaner and sharper, so much so that I hardly spend any time processing them.

I have hardly picked up my X-T1 since the festival season finished and have had the X-T10 around my neck in all weathers (not that I recommend you do it) but I have found myself shooting in torrential rain and this little camera has not missed a beat. It’s no secret I use my cameras  as a tool and not a prize possession. This little camera is just bullet proof.

_DSF0036-Edit

It’s small enough to be invisible for Street but has a great viewfinder and perfect size rear screen for me to teach Landscape and  Long Exposure classes.

I thought I would be running back to my X100T or my X-T1 in no time but I am still in love with this little thing.

It’s great with most of the smaller lenses but becomes unbalanced with the larger glass but this is to be expected.

_DSF0026-Edit

I use this camera on Auto ISO for most of my Street work and shoot with the large green square on continuous focus for anything that is moving. It nails it 99% of the time, this is with me walking and my subject on the move. I hear lots of people talking about how the Fuji’s don’t compare to the DSLR they have and I find this strange as the people that come on my workshops with DSLRs can’t get a single in focus shot on the move. They can with the shutter speed cranked up to the max on a bright day but thats a different story.

I go out day after day with this little camera and come home very pleased with the keepers.

I have been using it with the 27mm as if it was bolted on but now I have the new 35mm f/2. I hope to give it a treat over the festive period with a change of glass.

I can’t fault this little camera and I love it so much I have two, one to shoot wide and one to shoot long!

So this is my go to Fuji X Series Camera until something more interesting comes along…

DSCF0452

21 thoughts on “The Stunning X-T10

    The Stunning X-T10 | Fujifilm X Series APS C se... said:
    December 9, 2015 at 8:25 am

    […] What can I say, I have owned or still own every X series camera that Fuji have made and so far the X-T10 is the star. I love my X-T1 and should prefer it to the X-T10, I actually do when I am shooting events in the rain and need a battery grip but the rest of the time the X-T10 is my go to camera.  […]

    Wayne Crichlow said:
    December 9, 2015 at 10:22 am

    Since I relegated my DSLR for my Fuji X100S I have never looked back. Stunning camera for my Street Photography.

    The Stunning X-T10 | Matthew Hart said:
    December 9, 2015 at 12:37 pm

    […] Sourced through Scoop.it from: matthewhartphotography.wordpress.com […]

    lefey said:
    December 10, 2015 at 8:08 am

    Hi Matt, how subjective do you think we are in relation to image comparisons? Just thinking, I prefer the XPro jpgs to my XE2’s using the same lens, different sensor , I know. Though probably the difference is negligible? So do you think really the XT10 puts out slightly sharper/clearer images than the XT1 with the 27mm? Grr, I wish I knew the answer to these lovely pondering questions we have about brilliant Fuji cameras. !

      matt6t6 responded:
      December 10, 2015 at 9:50 am

      The jpeg’s are not sharper unless you apply sharpness, but the RAW files in the X-T10 appear to be cleaner and sharper out of camera. Quite a few people prefer the feel of the original X Trans sensor for black and white.

    Simon Atkins Photography said:
    December 14, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    I found you while searching for photographers using Fuji cameras. Really interested to read about the X-T10, I already own the X-Pro1, X100 and XT-1, I might well be adding the X-T10 to my bag soon.

    olivechapman said:
    February 2, 2016 at 11:28 am

    I run the risk of sounding stupid, but I did just get my XT-10. What do you mean when you say that you shoot with the “large green square” on continuous focus? And do you use back button focus when you do this? Sorry I’m new to all this.

      matt6t6 responded:
      February 2, 2016 at 11:46 am

      If you press down on the bottom button on the function pad you get the focus square to highlight, you then turn the rear scroll wheel to change its size. It’s not a stupid question. You can alter its size and large works best for street. If you press the rear scroll wheel it zooms in for review and if you press the front scroll wheel it gives you the focus mode menu. I don’t use back button focus much on the XT10 I use it more on the X100T

    olivechapman said:
    February 2, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    Thanks for replying so quickly. I do this all the time, just didn’t quite realise how I did it! I’ve been trying out back button focusing sometimes I’m successful sometimes not. Why do you prefer not to use it on the XT10?

      matt6t6 responded:
      February 2, 2016 at 1:39 pm

      The XT10s focus system is far better than the X100T it’s that simple.

    olivechapman said:
    February 2, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    I like that answer, thanks.

      matt6t6 responded:
      February 2, 2016 at 4:00 pm

      No worries ..

    Hans said:
    April 21, 2016 at 3:13 am

    Matt – I heard you on TWIP Street Focus, and was happy to hear about your love of the X-T10 with 27mm. I share that passion. Although I now have the 35mm f/2, there is something about the near-norrmal focal length of the 27 that just works. There is also something about that small pancake on the little X body that just makes it a jewel of a package. It feels elegant and playful at the same time!

    I know I am “supossed” to like the new 35 better, but I have lots of fun and get great images with the 27. I may cave in and get the X-Pro2 body, but it won’t surprise me if the 27mm finds a home there, too.

    Love your work!

      matt6t6 responded:
      April 21, 2016 at 6:00 am

      Thank you for for comment Hans. The XPro2 is stunning so fast and easy to handle. I am using it this year with the 35mm f2 for my 1 camera 1 lens project. But as soon as the year is up the 27mm will find its way on to the Pro2.

    ladha said:
    November 29, 2016 at 6:23 pm

    Hi Matt6t6, Thank you for your review. Would you recommend this camera as a step up from the old Sony Nex 3n? for an enthusiast / intermediate photographer? I photograph street, family (my kid), scenery, travel and landscape. Thanks!

      matt6t6 responded:
      November 29, 2016 at 8:46 pm

      Hi ladha, Yes this camera is perfect for Street family and travel.

        ladha said:
        November 29, 2016 at 9:10 pm

        Thank you!

    Thomas Cronin said:
    December 4, 2016 at 12:17 am

    Hi Matt, I’ve just ordered an XT10. As regards your black and white photos do you use the black and white setting on the camera or are you shooting in colour and then converting to black and white in Lightroom or Photoshop. Thank you.

      matt6t6 responded:
      December 4, 2016 at 11:39 am

      Hi Thomas, I shoot in RAW and process my black and white images in Silver Effex Pro and Lightroom cc.

        Thomas Cronin said:
        December 6, 2016 at 12:16 am

        Matt, if you don’t mind I’d like to pick your brain as regards digital black and white prints. I live in Ireland and when I get B/W prints done here there always seems to be a colour cast in them, they never look like true B/W. I’ve had some done online with Ilford and they were excellent but very expensive. Do you know of any other online lab that is more reasonably priced? Thank you.

    matt6t6 responded:
    December 6, 2016 at 9:21 am

    I would recommend Loxley colour or Genesis Imaging.

Leave a comment